Old village - Vieil Eyguians

  • Historic site and monument
  • Historic patrimony
  • Ruins and remains
Elevation : 735m
Vieil Eyguians, Eyguians, 05300 Eyguians
It was around 739 that the first village in Eyguians developed under the name of Laquaticum, which was then built further south.
Saracen invasions forced the inhabitants to flee to higher, safer ground. In 1264, the Mévouillon family, lords of Arzeliers, had a rampart built here. In 1888, a water shortage prompted the residents to leave the village.

Openings

Openings

All year 2025 - Open everyday

Location

Location

Old village - Vieil Eyguians
Elevation : 735m
Vieil Eyguians, Eyguians, 05300 Eyguians

Spoken languages

Spoken languages
  • French
Updated on 05 September 2023 at 13:52
by Office de Tourisme Sisteron Buëch
(Offer identifier : 5723524)