The Priory at Saint-Dalmas de Tende

  • Historic site and monument
  • Historic patrimony
  • Religious heritage
  • Chapel
  • Convent
  • Priory
  • Gothic
  • Renaissance
06430 Tende
Originally occupied by Benedictine nuns, Le Prieuré is now a hotel-restaurant and ESAT.
It is known for its rich historical and architectural heritage, its calm and serenity. Numerous events and festivities take place here.
The Priory was first built in 731 by Benedictine monks from the Abbey of San Dalmazzo da Pedona (Italy).
After the French Revolution, it underwent various conversions before finally being reoccupied by a congregation of nuns from the Sisters of the Assumption. Deemed "too daring" by the nuns, many Renaissance works were stolen or destroyed, notably those in the chapel.
During the 1939-1945 war, the nuns took in orphans and cared for wounded soldiers. Today, the crypt contains the nuns' tombs.
In 1951, the Priory was bought by a private owner and used as a vacation camp for several years. The property was subsequently bought by the local council.
During major restoration work, the portal of the Château Lascaris was found in the Priory garden, and is now on display in the Collegiate Church of Tende.
Today, the priory is home to an ESAT (Etablissement de service et d'aide par le travail) hotel-restaurant. Its mission is to provide employment for adults recognized as disabled.
The Priory was first built in 731 by Benedictine monks from the Abbey of San Dalmazzo da Pedona (Italy).
After the French Revolution, it underwent various conversions before finally being reoccupied by a congregation of nuns from the Sisters of the Assumption. Deemed "too daring" by the nuns, many Renaissance works were stolen or destroyed, notably those in the chapel.
During the 1939-1945 war, the nuns took in orphans and cared for wounded soldiers. Today, the crypt contains the nuns'...

Services

Lift
Air conditioning
Car park
Wifi

Openings

All year 2025 - Open everyday

Location

The Priory at Saint-Dalmas de Tende
06430 Tende
Spoken languages
  • French
Updated on 15 February 2024 at 15:59
by Office de Tourisme Menton, Riviera & Merveilles
(Offer identifier : 6236247)
Close