Eglise Saint Martin

  • Historic site and monument
  • Religious heritage
  • Church
  • Classified
grand'rue 04370 Colmars
The history of Colmars tells of the church of "St Jean hors les murs", destroyed by fire in 1672, and rebuilt on the same site between 1681 and 1696 as part of the fortified enclosure, but under the name of St Martin's Church.
Saint Martin's church was conceived as a fortified element blocking a weak point in the line of the ramparts. The church is unadorned and rather austere, in the Provençal Gothic style (a blend of Romanesque and Gothic).
In fact, the portal of the previous building (Saint Jean hors les murs) has been replaced, bearing Latin inscriptions and the date 1530, as well as the name of Flemish architect Mathieu d'Anvers and the motto "AL OM BETTER" "que tout aille mieux".
This has often misled...
Services
Accessible for wheelchairs with assistance
Reserved space 330 cm wide < 100 m from the site
Doors >=77 cm wide
Parking
  • Accessibility
  • Accessible for wheelchairs with assistance

  • Reserved space 330 cm wide < 100 m from the site

  • Doors >=77 cm wide

  • Equipment
  • Parking

Location
Eglise Saint Martin
grand'rue 04370 Colmars
  • www.paroisseshautverdon.fr
Updated on 01 March 2023 at 15:23
by Verdon Tourisme
(Offer identifier : 632068)
Report mistake
Report mistake
Thanks. Your message has been sent.
Une erreur est survenue lors de l'envoi du formulaire.
Close