From the Second Empire to the 20th century
Napoleon III, on the occasion of the annexation of Nice in 1860, wished to enhance culture by establishing a state deposit. Unfortunately, no premises were available at the time to showcase the works that once cohabited with the archives and the municipal library, before finding refuge in several successive buildings.
In 1925, the city of Nice acquired a villa of Italian Renaissance inspiration, built at the end of the 19th century, and carried out major works there. The Museum of Fine Arts was inaugurated in 1928 under the name of Palais des Arts, Musée Jules Chéret.
The original deposit is enriched by numerous donations from private collectors. Félix Ziem, Mrs Dufy, the Mossa family, Maurice Fenaille among others have contributed to the setting up of the collections we know today.